Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer

School of Medicine

School of Medicine Α' Department of Propaedeutic Surgery

Director: Prof. Dimitrios Theodorou

The “First Department of Propaedeutic of Surgery and Surgical Pathology”of Athens Medical School in NKUA was officially established in 1922 (legislative act 2905/27-9-1922) and since 1943 it has occupied the premises placed at its disposal by the “Hippokration” General Hospital of Athens (FEK A77-09.04.1942).

Since its establishment, the First Departmennt of Propaedeutic Surgery has clinical and academic duties in the field of General Surgery as theclinic’s aims are to protectand improve public health and to add to the global scientific knowledge by providing high-quality and novel academic research. Its academic duties involve the clinical education of 4thand 6thyear undergraduate medical students. The resident surgeons of the First Propaedeutic Surgical Clinic are exposed to all aspects of general surgery in the modern age in order to transition from graduate students to fully competent general surgeons.

The Professors and Principal Directors of the clinic are listed below, in chronological order:

Emmanouil Kontoleon (1924 – 1939)

Xenofon Kontiadis (1939 – 1943)

Petros Kokkalis (1943 – 1945)

Konstantinos Alivizatos (1945 – 1970)

Nikolaos Oikonomos (1970 – 1980)

Alexandros Romanos (1980 – 1981)

Vasileios Golematis (1981 – 1996)

Panagiotis Peveratos (1996 – 1997)

Georgios Androulakis (1997 – 2003)

Nikolaos Apostolidis (2003 – 2004)

Ioannis Mpramis (2004 – 2009)

George C. Zografos (2009 – 2023)

Dimitrios Theodorou (2023 – today)